Atomic Bio

Fredrik Ljungkvist – reeds
Magnus Broo – trumpet
Håvard Wiik – piano
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten – bass
Paal Nilssen-Love – drums

Atomic was established in 2000 and already after their first two studio albums Feet Music (2002) and Boom Boom (2003), both their growing audience and music reviewers alike began to perceive them as an original flavor with an entirely individual energy that few Scandinavian jazz groups could match. Their impact on the Scandinavian  jazz-scene in the following years has been substantial. An explosive blend of American free-jazz with European characteristics is how some reviewers have described them. Or better yet, part academic lecture, part a fun night out on the town, is how the band has been described, and is what makes their sound truly Atomic.

While they make no secret of their admiration for leading American jazz musicians such as Duke Ellington, Archie Shepp, Charles Mingus and George Russell to mention a few or the music of Morton Feldman and John Cage, the music of Atomic is also mixed with an equal love of European free jazz and improvised music. They regard the American and European jazz traditions as an inspiration rather than a restriction, as a springboard to set their own direction and position within jazz music.

No strangers to the touring circuit, Atomic were on the road almost as soon as they were formed, and they have since 2000 been touring extensively in Europe, Japan and USA. Their 10th release “Here Comes Everybody” was released together with a tour of Europe in December 2011. Atomic are now working on the touring activity for 2012 to further promote this ‘gem’ of an album.


Previous releases:

Feet Music (Jazzland Rec. 2001)
Boom Boom (Jazzland Rec. 2003)
Bikini Tapes (Jazzland Rec. 2005)
Happy New Ears (Jazzland Rec. 2006)
Retrograde (Jazzland Rec. 2008)
Theater Tilter Vol 1 (Jazzland Rec 2010)
Theater Tilter Vol 2 (Jazzland Rec 2010)
Boom Boom “vinyl edition” (No Business Records 2010)
Bikini Tapes “vinyl edition” (No Business Records 2010)
Here Comes Everybody (Jazzland Rec 2011)


Atomic VS Vandermark 5 “The Flamable Poster Boxset” (Attavistic 2004)
Atomic School Days “Nuclear Assembly Hall (Okka Disc 2004)
Atomic School Days “Distill” (Okka Disc 2008)

Labels: JazzLand Recordings Web: Atomic’s SiteManagement:  Danielle Oosterop